top of page

Antonio Romero Cienfuegos

World Classical Music Awards 2023 S1 Grand Prize Winner

Antonio Romero Cienfuegos (A Coruña, 1990)

He began studying double bass when he was 8 years old with Professor Antonio Portela

Rodriguez and he continued his studies at the Conservatorio Superior de Música in A Coruña

with Professor Nerea Casanova Gilsanz. During the 2010-2011 academic year, he studied with

Professor Andrew Ackerman in the Escola Superior de Música de Catalunya, in Barcelona, and

afterwards, he has done a Master of Performance in the Royal College of Music in London with

professors Thomas Martin and Kevin Rundell. A few years later, he has completed a Masters in

Soloist Interpretation in the Centro Superior Katarina Gurska (Madrid) with Professors Luis

Cabrera and Karen Martirossian with a scholarship by Segundo Gil Dávila Foundation. Between

2018 and 2020, he did a Postgraduate Course with Alberto Bocini in the Scuola di Música di


He has attended classes with Carlos Méndez, Petru Iuga, Antonio García Araque, Risto Vuolane,

François Rabbath, Thierry Barbé, Diego Zecharies, Ferrán Sala... and he has played with many

conductors such as Pietro Rizzo, Alberto Zedda, James Judd, Jan Cober, Carlos Kalmar, Bernard

Haitink, Vladimir Jurowsky to name but a few. He was selected to play with the European Youth

Wind Orchestra in Luxemburgo in September 2007 and, a year later, he won the 2nd Prize in the

XI Contest “Diputación de Toledo” for strings. He has also been awarded with the 3rd prize in

the International Music Competition London Grand Prize Virtuoso 2016 and with an Honourable

Mention in the International Competition for young soloist from Costa Atlántica. In 2023, he was

awarded with a Gold Medal in modern music and with a Grand Prize in the World Classical music


He has collaborated with orchestras such as Orquesta Sinfónica de Valencia, Real Filharmonía

de Galicia, Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia, Orquesta Sinfónica de Madrid, Orquesta Sinfónica de

la Radio Televisión Española, Orquesta Sinfónica de Castilla y León or Orquesta Sinfónica del

Principado de Asturias. He has also formed part of the Orquestra de Cámara Galega and he has

performed, as a guest artist, in the Chamber Music Festival in Vila Nova de Famaliçao (Portugal)

and in the Festival Turina (Sevilla).

He has performed as a soloist "Carmen Fantasy" by Proto, "Concertino for Double bass op. 45

nº 11" by Lars Erik Larsson and also "Concerto for double bass" by Jean Françaix.

As a composer, he has written “Walking in New York” for Double Bass quintet; "Fendas", for

chorus, piano and recited, for the Chorus Ludus Tonalis and "Little... Tango" for double bass


He has also premièred pieces written by several composers: “Número 4” by Antonio Portela

Rodríguez; “Sonata for double bass and piano” and "4 pezas lúdicas" for double bass and

vibraphone by the Galician composer Federico Mosquera Martínez; "Bourrée" by Armand

Russell; "Suspiros", "Serenata", "Duet for violoncello and double bass" and “Duo nº 1 for violin

and double bass” by the Catalonian composer Josep Cervera i Bret; and “Once in the evening”

and “Dialogue” by the Russian composer Ilona Diaghileva.Currently, he teaches double bass in the Conservatorio Superior de Música de Castilla y León in

Spain while he is invited to play and teach in different locations such as Spain, Russia, Italy,

Bulgaria, France, Portugal or Norway.

Antonio Romero Cienfuegos
bottom of page